CHSfiftyniners

Chattanooga High School Class of 1959

Lee Reynolds: A Christmas Carol

2 Comments

Lee Reynolds with grandsons on Halloween

From: Lee Reynolds

I had been eagerly looking forward to seeing everybody at our class get-together Dec.14 before our Rheems heater broke down and necessarily kept me here that very day while the fixers fixed it and made me miss it. All the same, I had mentioned it several times earlier to my two little adopted grandchildren (pictured). The concept of a class reunion is still a vague idea to a 10 year-old and a 13 year-old and they asked me:

“Why, don’t you see your classmates every day?” (the way they do)

“No, Punkin, some of them we haven’t seen in more than 50 years.”

“How can that be?” they asked in genuine puzzlement.

“Well, we graduated that long ago and we sort of separated for a long time, but we all love each other and now we like to get back together again.”

“You all love each other?”

“Yes, we do.”

“After fifty years?”

“More than ever.”

A long silence.

“They must be pretty nice people.”

“They’re the best.”

“Do you love them?”

“Of course. I love each and every one.”

Another silence.

“Well, Grandpaw Lee, when you see them, tell them we love them, too!”

I thought that that was one of the nicest, most sincere things I’ve heard in a long time, and it sure is a super Christmas message to all our classmates, so I thought I’d pass it along.

My kids and I are pictured here on Halloween night of this year.
Merry Christmas to everybody, each and every one!

Love to all,

Delmar
Lee Reynolds
confederatesub@yahoo.com

 

Lee Reynolds with grandsons

Author: Dru

blogger, columnist, photographer, social media consultant

2 thoughts on “Lee Reynolds: A Christmas Carol

  1. Thank you, Lee, for sharing this sweet moment.

  2. I’d like to add that I love all you folks too! Thanks for letting me be a part of the CHS class of ’59. Happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers